Recent News

Award-Winning Children's Books

January 29, 2013 at 9:39 AM

Yesterday morning, the American Library Association held a press conference to announce the winners of some of the most prestigious children's book prizes of the year, including the Caldecott and Newbery Medals.

The Caldecott is a prize for illustration. This year's medal goes to an HPL staff favorite, Jon Klassen, for his picture book This is Not My Hat. The committee gave out five honors this year--to Jon Klassen (yes, again!) for Extra Yarn, to Peter Brown for his hilarious Creepy Carrots, to Laura Vaccaro Seeger for her profound Green, to David Small for his wry One Cool Friend, and to Pamela Zagarenski for her lovely Sleep Like a Tiger.

The Newbery is a prize for text, typically awarded to chapter books and nonfiction. This year's winner is The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate, and honors go to Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz, Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin, and Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage. Steve Sheinkin's Bomb was a big winner this year, also winning the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award and the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. That one's definitely on my To Read list.


Return to News Page